Old Fashioned Chicken Soup

image

After sharing two recipes from my previous site, I thought it high time I did something not seen before. Hope you like it.

For the last couple of weeks I’ve been suffering from a cold. Not man flu, just a regular cold. After a few days feeling like shit and not being hungry, my appetite came back. And this is what I fancied.

The soup in the above photo was made by my Mum, and it tastes as good as it looks. I like it with some good crusty brown bread, toasted, and a good film. Preferably a food-based film.

Old Fashioned Chicken Soup

After sharing two recipes from my previous blog, I’ve decided to write a new recipe just for this. I hope you like it.

2 chicken breasts, cut into bite-sized pieces
butter
1-2 carrots, peeled and chopped finely
1-2 celery sticks, chopped finely
1 white onion,  peeled and chopped finely
1 leek, washed and chopped small
approx 1.7 litres chicken stock, homemade or good quality stock cubes
1 small mug of red lentils
1 handful soup pasta

1. In a large pan, cook the chicken pieces in a little butter until no longer pink. Remove to a plate.

2. In the same pan, using a little extra butter, saute the vegetables until softened, about 15 minutes. Once softened, return the chicken to the pan along with the stock and lentils.

3. Bring to a simmer, and cook for about 45 minutes, or until the lentils are tender.

4. Near the end of the cooking time, add the pasta, allow to cook until softened. Serve in bowls.

Note: You can add some spinach at the end, stirring it in to wilt.

This is enough for four to six servings.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Jenny Davies says:

    That soup looks really good! I hope it does its job and you’re feeling better very soon. 🙂

    Like

    1. theknightoftheroundtable says:

      Thank you Jenny. Yes, it did. Feeling much better now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

