Peanut Butter Cookies

I am sorry about the crap photo above. It was taken when I first had my Samsung phone, and I didn’t know which button did what. The next time I bake these, I’ll take a better photo. Promise….

(Update 24/07/17 – I’ve now changed the photo to a better one taken with my iPhone 6S.)

It is no secret that I love peanut butter. Not love, adore it. Ever since I was a boy it has been my number one toast topping/sandwich filling. When I got into fitness a couple of years ago, I discovered that peanut butter was a high source of protein. Fuck yeah!

Last year, through Marcus Butler’s YouTube videos, yes I am a Marky Butt-Butt fan, I found out that you can buy other nut butters, almond, hazelnut and cashew. So naturally I brought some. And turns out I love them as well.

The recipe I’m giving you is one I found in Donal Skehan’s first book: Good Mood Food. I first made them at Christmas, using hazelnut butter and, just because I wanted to, dark chocolate chunks. And you know what, they weren’t bad.

Ever since that first time I baked these, I’ve included dark chocolate chunks. You don’t have to put them in. Sometimes I use a packet of them, other times I chop up a bar of chocolate. Use whichever option is best for you.

Peanut Butter Cookies – adapted from Good Mood Food by Donal Skehan
150g light brown sugar
60g wholemeal flour
100g dark chocolate chips, optional
150g crunchy peanut butter, or whichever nut butter you prefer
1 large egg

In a large mixing bowl, combine the sugar, flour and chocolate chips, if using. Add the other ingredients and mix well.

Place the bowl of dough in the fridge for fifteen minutes. Meanwhile preheat the oven to 180c/170c fan/gas 4, and line two baking trays with baking parchment.

Roll rounded dessertspoons of the dough into balls, placing them on the baking trays, with a little space between each. Using the tines of a fork, press down in a criss-cross pattern on each cookie. Return any remaining dough to the fridge.

Bake, in the oven, for 15 minutes. Remove the cookies to a wire rack to cool.

Serve with either a shake or a coffee. These are also great for your kids snack boxes alongside an apple and a carton of juice.

Leave a Reply

