Yogurt Pot Cake

image

A lovely recipe, taken from my kitchen notebook and old site. I think this has to be my all time favourite cake. Make it, and you will see why.

There does come a time now and again when you do fancy a slice of cake, and today I had such a yearning that I had to succumb to it and bake. Whilst deciding which cake to go for, my mind went back to my childhood, and I remembered a cake that my mum made nearly every week – her Yogurt Pot Cake. She’d use it for a family tea cake, cake stalls, picnics and presents for when we went visiting.

Yogurt cakes may seem strange and unusual, but they are incredibly easy to make, you simply pop the yogurt into a bowl, and you use the yogurt pot as a measuring cup, like in America. When it comes to the yogurt you use, it has to be plain natural yogurt, never a fruity yogurt or any other flavour it won’t work.

As I’ve said above, this is my mother’s recipe, and it is incredibly good, it’s moist, got a good flavour and a good cake to have alongside coffee. I’ve got to do something about my coffee addiction. I blame my college friends.

This will also make a good dessert for an informal lunch with friends, just serve in slices with a dollop of creme fraiche or lightly whipped cream and some berries, raspberries work best I find.

Yogurt Pot Cake

1 x 150g pot plain natural yogurt
1 measure sunflower oil
2 medium eggs or 3 small eggs
1 teaspoon almond or vanilla extract
3 measures self-raising flour
1 1/2 measures caster sugar

Preheat the oven to 180c/170c fan/gas 4. Grease and line a 2lb loaf tin, or use one of those loaf-tin liners.

Put the yogurt, sunflower oil, eggs and almond extract into a bowl, and whisk together until combined, add the dry ingredients and fold in, scraping down the sides of the bowl while doing so.

Once a smooth batter, pour in the tin, level the surface and bake in the oven for 1 1/4 hours, until golden and a skewer inserted into the centre comes out clean.

Remove from the oven, leave to cool in the tin for a few minutes; remove from the tin and leave to cool completely.

Leave a Reply

