Malteser Traybake

image

Just the thing you need for the post Easter week. You don’t have to do this with Maltesers, you can adapt this to accommodate any chocolate confection. Last year for my young cousin’s christening I made, at her father’s request, a version using slices of Double Decker bars instead of Maltesers.

I love making fridge cakes, although I much prefer calling them by their American name, icebox cakes. I find it sounds cooler. Feel free to call it as you choose.

The recipe for this was found on Nigella Lawson’s site; it was submitted by a lady called Meg, who makes it every year for her daughter’s birthday. Lucky daughter is all I can say.

I’ve stipulated dark chocolate in the recipe below because I find it tastes better against the Maltesers, but if you wish to make it using milk chocolate, be my guest. Mum and I have also found that this works incredibly well using white chocolate, ordinary digestives and white chocolate Maltesers; and a friend of mine does two excellent versions, one using those mint Aero bubbles, and the other using segments of Terry’s Chocolate Orange.

Do feel free to play with the chocolate and the toppings, and do let me know in the comments what versions you have come up with.

Malteser Traybake – adapted from Meg on Nigella’s recipe forum.

This is incredibly useful for when you have a lot of chocolate around, or when you have to bring something in for a bake sale. Two years ago I made this for my aunt’s village fete and one woman was reported to have said this was better than sex. Now that’s a compliment.

The amounts stipulated below are the original quantities, but feel free to double, triple or even quadruple it to your needs.

100g butter
200g dark chocolate
3 tbsp golden surup
225g dark chocolate digestive biscuits, crushed
225g Maltesers, approx

Line a baking tin with greaseproof paper. Set aside.

In a saucepan gently melt the butter, chocolate and golden syrup.

Add the biscuits and mix together quickly. Pour into the prepared baking tin, top with Maltesers and chill until set.

Cut into small squares. Serve.

Note: This will keep well in the fridge for a few days. If it lasts that long, so I suggest you keep a little stash locked away for little moments of greedy pleasure. Well, you did make this.

Leave a Reply

