School Days Bolognese

image

This is a recipe from my Mum’s old school books from when she studied for her O Level in Home Economics during the late 1960’s and early 1970’s.

This is a fantastic recipe. Mum’s made this so many times over the years that she never refers to the book any more. She uses it for lasagna, and spaghetti. I personally prefer cooking tagliatelle (more traditional) or short pasta for this, penne (like in the picture) or shells.

School Days Bologneseadapted from Mum’s O-Level Home Economics cookbook.

400g beef mince (with a good bit of fat)
1 medium chopped onion
1 pepper, chopped
1-2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tablespoon tomato paste
1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
1 tsp dried oregano
400ml carton of passata or can of chopped tomatoes
1tsp sugar
a handful mushrooms,  chopped

Brown the mince, onion and pepper in a dry pan, breaking up the mince as you go. This will take about fifteen minutes.

Add everything else, putting the mushrooms in last. Allow to come to a simmer, and allow to cook for about forty-five minutes to an hour, stirring as you go.

Taste for seasoning, adjust. Use for lasagna or toss with cooked pasta.

Enough for four servings of cooked pasta.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I recognise this recipe! I’m sure I made this at school too (although not in the 60s) and my children did too. I actually made it tonight for our tea!!

    Like

    1. theknightoftheroundtable says:

      Ah cool. My Mum taught my brothers and I this recipe when we were all teenagers.

      Like

Leave a Reply

