Traditional Porridge

image

I know you will think I am crazy, telling you how to make porridge, but let me explain. It is a good thing to know how to make, and I think that everyone should have a basic recipe for it.

This is, again, a reissued post from my previous blog, but I think it’s okay to plagiarize oneself.

Ever since I was a child, I’ve loved porridge. I guess it’s because it’s really filling, and it keeps you going for ages, and that the method for it is really easy.

Back in those days, I liked it with golden syrup spooned over, nowadays, I go for a little maple syrup; and I also add a little handful of raisins. It is really up to you how you have your porridge, my best friend, Ben, who has a big bowl of porridge every morning, varies it everyday, his favourite being a scattering of blueberries. Although he is good every single day of the year, on special days, like his birthday he pours a little cream over it and sprinkles over a spoonful of demerara sugar. He tells me that is how his godfather, who lives in a castle in Scotland, has it everyday.

Although I have mentioned above that I like to have a little maple syrup and raisins over my porridge, I didn’t have any in the cupboard today, so I went without. And also, the recipe I’ve given you is more or less what it says to do on every packet of porridge oats, so if you’ve thrown the packet out and can’t remember how it goes, here it is.

Per person:
50g good porridge oats (not instant)
300ml cold water
A little milk
Your preferred toppings

This is the easiest thing to do, besides falling in love. You simply measure the oats and water into a pan. When cooking porridge for just me, I use a milk pan.

Gently bring to a boil, stirring as you go, you don’t want it catching on the base of the pan. Lower to a simmer and cook, again stirring as you go, for about 3-4 minutes, or until thick.

Decant the porridge into a bowl, and pour over a little milk. Add your preferred toppings, and eat.

Notes – Since the time of writing this, I’ve found a new way of serving porridge.

Make the porridge up as before. Decant into your bowl, add a little milk. Scatter over a handful each of raspberries and blueberries, some sliced banana and a few chopped nuts. Drizzle over maple syrup or honey. Devour on the sofa with a massive mug of coffee.

This is my new favourite way of eating porridge. My friend Ben now has his porridge like this but with almond milk, and a small scoop of protein powder. Maybe one day I’ll start doing it like that too. Let’s see, shall we?

Leave a Reply

