Chilli Wasabi Beef Stir-Fry

image

A new favourite way of stir-frying beef. I have lost count of the amount of times I’ve cooked this dish over the past few weeks. It’s too fucking good. Even my mother likes it.

The idea for this dish came about from raiding the fridge and store-cupboard one Friday night when I was home alone for the weekend. Mum had brought me steak, and said I could cook it however I wanted. So I did a stir-fry of steak and vegetables, in a chilli and wasabi sauce.

The sauce was an experiment. The remnants of a jar of homemade chilli sauce shaken with soy, fish sauce, lime juice and a bit of wasabi. I think this combo will also work with prawns.

After I cooked this, I ate it with wholegrain rice and quinoa, and washed it down with a bottle of lager and lime. I seem to remember I followed this with a chocolate brownie. This was pre-Slimming World.

Chilli-Wasabi Beef Stir-Fry

A great supper for when you’ve got friends over, or home alone.

Coconut oil spray
Baby sweetcorn, chopped
A handful of sugarsnap peas
A handful of green beans, topped and tailed
Steak, sliced thinly
Red pepper, sliced thinly
Mushrooms, sliced thinly
Spring onions, sliced thinly

Sauce:
1 tbsp sweet chilli sauce, per person
1tbsp soy sauce, per person
1 tbsp fish sauce, per person
1/2 tsp wasabi paste per person
Squeeze of lime juice

To finish off:
A large handful of spinach, per person

Heat a wok over high heat. Spray with the coconut oil spray. In a small jar, shake the sauce ingredients together until combined. Set aside.

Stir-fry the corn, sugarsnaps and green beans for a few minutes. Then add the steak and vegetables, and stir-fry until just cooked through. Add the jar of sauce and the spinach. Cook until the spinach has wilted and the sauce had reduced a bit.

Serve with rice, or noodles.

Leave a Reply

