Blueberry American Breakfast Pancakes

image

I don’t usually make or eat pacakes a great deal nowadays. For me they are usually more of a holiday thing, a treat every once in a while. Having said that, pancakes have been a part of my family life for decades.

When my brothers and I were growing up in the nineteen eighties and nineties, we used to request pancakes for breakfast or pudding a lot. Sometimes, if we were lucky, our mother would make a huge bowl of batter, cook up half for breakfast, the remainder for teatime.

My own particular favourite variety of pancake is the spongy American style. I don’t know why, I just preferred them over the thin, lacy French crepe style ones my brothers prefered. Luckily they have all come round to my way of thinking.

This was the recipe that converted them. It’s from Nigella, naturally. The first time I made them this way was while staying round the house of one of my brothers and sisters-in-law. Both sisters-in-law asked for blueberry ones, and I happily obliged. Ain’t I a good brother-in-law?

Blueberry American Breakfast Pancakes – adapted from How to be a Domestic Goddess by Nigella Lawson

If you don’t like blueberries, you can add whatever you like. Sliced banana and raisins; dark chocolate chips (I tried these after watching the 1998 version of Disney’s The Parent Trap where they’re mentioned). Or even just plain, in which case these taste excellent spread with Nutella, homemade or shop-brought.

225g plain flour
1 tbsp baking powder
pinch of salt
1 tsp caster sugar
2 eggs, beaten
30g butter, melted and cooled
300ml milk
butter for frying
1 punnet fresh blueberries

In a large bowl combine the dry ingredients. Make a well in the centre, and mix in the wet ingredients. I find a magiwhisk is best.

In a large frying pan, set over a medium heat, melt a little butter. Once sizzling, dollop spoonfuls of the batter into the pan, scattering over a few berries. Once the upper-side is bubbling, about two minutes or so, flip the pancakes over. Leave for another minute or so until cooked. Transfer to plates and allow everyone to pour over some maple syrup.

Leave a Reply

