Schoolboy Chocolate Chip Biscuits

An easy recipe to make with children.

These were sold at my primary school tuck shop at break-time every day. And everyone used to rave about them, so the dinnerlady who made them, Margaret, passed the recipe onto our Home Economics teacher, Mrs Cameron, and she taught us the recipe in lesson.

Once school was closed for the summer holidays, I took the books of recipes I learnt in class home (we did this every year with all the recipes we learnt, we wrote them down in notebooks). I made them with Mum a couple of times that summer, then the recipe was lost, I think the book just got mislaid somewhere, or burnt.

Fast forward twenty years, and I was in a charity shop glancing at the cookbooks. By chance I discovered a book called ‘The Best of Sainsbury’s Baking’, a compilation of baking recipes from all the Sainsbury’s cookbooks from the eighties and early nineties. I picked it up and flicked through, then I found it. The very recipe I learnt all those years ago. I was so pleased that I found it, I brought it, with no remorse.

I’ve made these twice already, and I want to make them again for one of my visits to my old home county of Essex, where two of my older brothers still live with their families. I’m sure they will be gobbled up faster than you can say ‘Ready, set, go.’

Schoolboy Chocolate Chip Biscuits – adapted from The Best of Sainsbury’s Baking – makes about 20-30 – These can be easily multiplied.

If you prefer, you can make these with milk chocolate. I’m thinking of using a batch of these using Toblerone, I think this option will be divine with an espresso mid morning or afternoon.

Oh yes, these are moreishly crumbly.

175g dark chocolate
125g butter, softened
50g caster sugar
1 egg
150g self-raising flour

Preheat the oven to 180c, fan 160c, gas 4. Line several baking trays with baking parchment. Chop the chocolate finely, so it’s like gravel. Set aside while you get on with the dough.

Cream the butter and sugar until fluffy. Beat in the egg until combined. Give the sides of the bowl a scrape down with a spatula, then add the flour and chocolate. Give it all a final mix to combine everything together.

Using a small spoon, dollop mounds of the dough onto the prepared baking trays. Bake, in batches, for 10-15 minutes. Remove to cooling racks and cool completely.

Store airtight for a few days. If they last that long.

Leave a Reply

