My Mother’s Apple Cake

image

A great cake from my mother’s notes, and it is a family favourite.
My mother has a very good apple cake in her repertoire. An almond sponge with a layer of apple baked in the middle, and very good it is too. She gave me the recipe a few years ago and I shared it on my old blog. But I’m gradually removing recipes from there and putting them on here with updated introductions, if needed.

Mum has been making this delicious cake for years, since I was a toddler at least, possibly earlier than that. It was always her go-to dessert for special occasions, mostly Easter or Mother’s Day. I liked it best the following day as a tea cake with a small dollop of cream.
And I still do.

My Mother’s Apple Cake – from my mother’s cookery notebook

150g unsalted butter
2 large eggs, or 3 medium
225g caster sugar
1 tsp almond extract
225g self-raising flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
350g peeled and sliced Bramley apples
icing sugar, for dusting over

1. Preheat the oven to gas 3/fan 160c/170c. Prepare a 23cm cake tin with a paper cake liner.

2. Melt the butter in a small saucepan over a gentle heat. Pour into a large bowl, add the sugar, eggs and almond extract, mix everything together well. Finally fold in the flour and baking powder.

3. Pour about two-thirds of the almond mixture into the prepared tin. Place the apple slices in a layer over the mixture, cover with the remaining mixture.

4. Bake in the oven for one hour and thirty minutes, until the apple is tender. You will know it’s done when a skewer, when inserted into the centre, comes out clean when you pull it out.

5. Remove from the oven, allow to cool completely in the tin. While the cake is still a little warm, sift over the icing sugar, although it doesn’t matter if you do it when it’s completely cold.

6. Serve the cake as either a pudding with cream, or as a tea cake.

Leave a Reply

