Simple Tex-Mex Chilli

image

Ideal for all these rainy days we seem to be having this summer.

Where has the summer gone? It’s July for fuck’s sake. Not bloody April!

Anyway,  with Tuesday being a mix of sun and rain, and having to use a package of minced beef from the fridge, I decided to cook a pot of chilli. To have with a glass of diet cola, while playing an Xbox game. Lego Harry Potter: Years 5-7, in case you were wondering.

I had the kitchen to myself that day, so I threw open the windows, put on some McFly, and cooked. The resulting chilli I had for my dinner, with a little salad. Normally I’d have wholemeal rice with it, but I was doing an SP day for Slimming World. Basically SP days are where you have no carbs, yogurts or bananas, but plenty of protein and fruit and vegetables.

I’ve never made a chilli from scratch before, I always used a package of chilli spice blend. I know, shocking isn’t it dear reader? The recipe I’ve decided to use as the basis for this comes from my Slimming World welcome pack. I think this version is better than the original, well of course it is. Otherwise I wouldn’t be sharing it.

Simple Tex-Mex Chilli – adapted from Slimming World

Frylight
1 onion, finely chopped
1 red pepper, chopped
500g beef mince
A few mushrooms, chopped
1 tsp chilli powder
2 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp paprika
A little dried chilli flakes
1 large clove of garlic, finely minced
1 x 400g can chopped tomatoes
1 x 400g can kidney beans in chilli sauce
300ml hot chicken stock

In a large pot placed over medium heat, cook the onion and pepper until softened. Throw in the mince, and cook until brown, draining off the excess fat. Throw in the mushrooms, spices and garlic, and cook for a few minutes until fragrant.

Pour in the tomatoes and kidney beans in their sauce, and the stock. Cover with a lid, allow to come up to a boil, and reduce to a simmer. Leave for 45 minutes to an hour, stirring from time to time.

Serve with rice, tortilla wraps, salad or even baked potatoes. Don’t forget to include a variety of toppings for everyone to put on top as they wish; the traditional toppings are sour cream, grated cheese, salsa, extra beans like pinto, crushed salted crackers etc.

Leave a Reply

