Lemon-Vanilla Pound Cake with Lemon Glaze


For a few weeks I had lost my blogging mojo for some reason, I would come on here and rather than type a post, I’d stare at the blank page with no idea at all as to what to write. Luckily I’ve got it back now, and just in time for Spring. So, here’s a cake to celebrate.

There is something about lemon cakes that just screams ‘Spring’ to me, as there always seems to an excess of lemon confections in the cookery magazines at this time of year. Or maybe that’s just me. But just because I’ve labelled this as a Spring bake, please feel free to make this at any time of the year.

I got the idea for this cake from Martha Stewart’s baking show, Martha Bakes. It was the episode all on, you guessed it, pound cakes, and in that episode Ms Stewart did the classic pound cake, a lemon glazed version, and a cream cheese one too. I am going to return to the cream cheese pound cake at a later date, it sounds too good to not pass up.

When I decided to make my version of a classic lemon pound cake, I read many recipes online including Martha’s own recipe. I thought about it, and just took my go-to basic loaf cake recipe that I found in a library book and added a couple of extra elements; I added lemon juice, as well as vanilla extract, to the cake batter, and made a thick lemon glaze to pour over the cake once it was cool, so it’s a bit like a classic lemon drizzle cake in a way.
 

Lemon-Vanilla Pound Cake with Lemon Glaze – idea adapted from Martha Stewart, cake recipe adapted from an old Good Food one, glaze is from my mother

The reason pound cake is called as such is because, long ago, it used to be made with a pound of everything; butter, sugar, flour, etc. I guess it is kind of obvious, but I won’t quibble.

175g butter, softened

175g caster sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp good vanilla extract

Zest of a lemon, and 1 tbsp of the juice

175g self-raising flour

2 tbsp milk

Glaze:

3 tbsp icing sugar

1-2 tsp lemon juice

Preheat the oven to 170c, fan 150c, gas mark 3. Grease and line a 2lb loaf tin with baking parchment, or line the tin with a loaf tin liner.

Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well between each addition, followed by the vanilla and lemon zest and juice. Sift in the flour, and fold in. Add the milk, and fold in.

Spoon into the tin, levelling the top with the back of a tablespoon. Bake in the oven, 45 minutes to an hour. Check the cake after 45 minutes with a skewer, if it comes out clean, it’s done, if not, return to the oven. 

Remove the cooked cake from the oven and leave on a wire rack to cool for a few minutes. Carefully invert onto the rack and allow to cool completely.

Once the cake is completely cold, you can make the glaze: simply mix the icing sugar with enough lemon juice to produce a thick but pourable icing. Pour the glaze over the cake, and allow to set.

Once set, serve in slices.

Notes on the New Kitchen

* In my last post, I mentioned that our kitchen was being redone, and it has been completed. It was completely stressful, very noisy and all. The only time I could get any peace was when I took the dog out to the local park.

* As soon as the old cabinets were removed, it was immensely surprising just how big the room was. 

* The colour scheme we’ve gone for was white and grey. Simple, yet classic. Which also means that purchasing new kitchen stuff in grey or white. We may even jazz things up a bit with something red.

Leave a Reply

